The Stoppies 2020

They’re back! The sensational Stoppies 2020 will recognise and celebrate a truly self-obsessed industry in the best way we know how – further ego stroking (only joking, well maybe).

2020 was a tough year but one with many memorable moments, and StopPress was there through all the highs and lows keeping an industry we cherish informed and up-to-date. 

In December the StopPress editorial team put heads together to determine the 2020 categories and nominees – informed by our (questionably) extensive industry insight. You, our avid readers have now had your say and the votes are in. 

The Stoppies Awards 2020 categories and nominees were:

Newsmaker of the Year


Jacinda Ardern, Ashley Bloomfield and the Covid-19 response

Media Win of the Year

Discovery buys MediaWorks TV

Stanley St/School Road Publishing partnership

The demise of Bauer Media and ARE’s comeback

Sinead Boucher buys Stuff for $1

The launch of Ovato Publishing Solutions

Sky’s launch of NEON

Government’s media support package

TVNZ and Omnicom Media Group’s launch of Dynamic Ad Insertion Format

Agency Advancement of the Year

Special Group launches into Melbourne and L.A.

YoungShand’s full service push

Omnicom and Vistar bring programmatic to New Zealand

Federation’s launch of ‘The Lab’

EightyOne lunches EightyOneX

Phantom Billstickers moves into the Australian market

Account Win of the Year

PHD named as foodstuffs new media agency

DDB wins New World account

FCB wins Police NZ account

Carat named Countdown’s media agency

The countless top accolades for Special Group

Colenso BBDO named Cannes Agency of the Decade

DDB wins entire Goodman Fielder account

MBM wins Mazda account

Best Rebrand of the Year

Pead becomes We Are Pead

DDB becomes DDB Group Aotearoa

Flybuys rebrand

Bauer becomes ARE

Whoopsie of the Year 

Bauer Media’s abrupt end

Warehouse Group’s insistence on being an essential service provider

Domino’s ‘Calling all (nice) Karrens

Safety Warehouse fake cash drop

Best Covid-19 Colab

TVNZ and ASB’s ‘Backing Business’

DDB and The Warehouse’s Teddybear campaign

Dentsu Aegis Network and NZME with interactive Covid-19 Comparisons Map

The Easter Bunny and Method’s introduce AR Easter hunt

JCDecaux uses its nationwide network to say thank you

99 and Spark NZ’s 3D virtual store

DDB, OMD and KidsCan’s 19-for-19

PHD Group partners with new crisis management agency

Phantom Billstickers and Not Another colour the streets

Campaign of the Year

Tourism NZ ‘Good Morning World’ (Special Group) 

Toyota Hilux campaign (Saatchi & Saatchi)

Ryman Healthcare’s ‘Ryman Pioneers’ (VMLY&R)

‘Keep it Real Online’ (Motion Sickness)

Vodafone’s ‘Endless Data’ (DDB)

2degrees’ ‘Rhys Darby scented candles’ (TBWA)

McDonald’s ‘Return of the Mack’ (DDB)

Battle of the Fast Food Giants

Uber vs post-Lockdown buy local sentiment

McDonald’s and DDB vs Burger King and Pitchblack Partners

Hells pizza vs BurgerFuel

Best Singalong of the Year

Almighty’s ‘Holier-than-thou sparkling water’ (Pitchblack Partners)

McDonald’s ‘Kiwiburger song’ (DDB)

Electric Kiwi’s ‘Benefits song’ (In-house)

Bell Tea’s bring ‘Feel alive flavour’ (Flying Fish and The Enthusiasts)

No Ugly’s ‘Wage a War on Ugly’ (Augusto)

Most Innovative Marketing

Tiny Pub (Emerson and DDB)

Private members bar (Crave)

11,000 plastic bottles (Kiwibank and 99)

Light dependent campaign (Land Rover and Hello)

Orchard bus stops (Countdown and oOh!media, Stanley Street and M&C Saatchi)

SkyCity’s All Blacks Experience (Augusto)

Best Post-Covid-19 Party

TVNZ-NZ Marketing Awards

Phantom’s ‘Fuck 2020’

Boldest Move of the Year

Cam Wallace leaves Air NZ after 19 years, becomes new CEO of MediaWorks

Jo Mitchell, Marketer of the Year 2019, moves from McDonald’s to DB Breweries

VMLY&R NZ appoints Fleur Head as Managing Director

Stanley St appoints Dan West as Head of Strategy

Saatchi & Saatchi appoints Mark Cochrane as the new CEO

Creative Ship-Jump/Step-up of the Year

Adam Thompson (Augusto)

Maria Devereux (Colenso BBDO)

Peter Vegas and Leisa Wall (FCB)

Lisa Fedyszyn and Jonathan McMahon (Special Group)

Tony Clewett (Federation)

Steve Cochrane (Saatchi & Saatchi) 

Anne Boothroyd (YoungShand)

Gary McCreadie (Hello)

Shaker of the Year

Tony Bradbourne (Special Group)

Justin Mowday (DDB)

Duncan Shand (YoungShand)

Sido Kitchin (School Road Publishing)

Sinade Boucher (Stuff)

Jodi O’Donnell (TVNZ)

Sharon Henderson (Federation)

Group of Humans of the Year

Special Group

Ex Bauer staff who have launched/relaunched masterheads




Get all the winners here.

About Author

One of the talented StopPress Team of Content Producers made this post happen.

Comments are closed.