PRINZ announces its annual PR stars

The Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) has announced the finalists in its annual industry awards, with category winners and the Supreme Award winner announced in Auckland on Friday May 11 following the close of the upcoming annual conference.

In 2011 the Supreme Award went to Melanie Palmer of ZESPRI International and Andrea Brady of Catalyst Communication Consulting Limited for the entry ‘Communications for kiwifruit Psa outbreak’.

More than 30 PRINZ Fellows and senior members have participated in the judging process and chief judge Anna Radford says this year’s awards attracted a record 60 entries from the corporate, not-for-profit and government sectors.

“The awards are designed to recognise excellence and celebrate success in New Zealand’s PR and communication industry, and we were delighted to see this aim reflected in the number, range and calibre of entries. Judges were impressed with the winning entries’ well-expressed strategies, creative implementation, effective messaging, excellent use of timing and—most importantly—great results and excellent value for the clients’ money.”

A new tertiary category honouring Paul Dryden has also been established this year.

All winners and highly commended entries will be named at a special event in Auckland on Friday May 11 following the close of the PRINZ Annual conference. The coveted Supreme Award winner will also be announced.


  • Adrienne Schwartfeger, Environment Canterbury for 2011: New Faces New Spaces
  • Angela Spain, DraftFCB for Launch of Electricity Authority “What’s My Number” campaign
  • Ann-Marie Johnson, Tourism Industry Association New Zealand for Tourism Future 2011-14 – The Visitor Economy: Creating Wealth
  • Bill Rundle, Porter Novelli NZ for WilliamsWarn – ‘The best beer-porn you’ll see all day’
  • Christl McMillan, Scion for Science in the Park 2011
  • Clare England, Network Communication for ChildFund New Zealand Father’s Day – Family Ties
  • Daniel O’Regan, Convergence for Student Volunteer Army
  • Fleur Postill, Haystac for SEEK New Zealand
  • Helen Cook, New Zealand Transport Agency for Victoria Park Tunnel: how we turned complainants into champions
  • Jacquie Walters, University of Canterbury for University of Canterbury Quake Response 2011
  • Jan McCarthy, Christchurch City Council for Central City Plan – Share an Idea
  • Matthew Vogts, Spark PR & Activate for The Libra Design Project
  • Peter Heath, TextWrite for Good guys or the Grinch?
  • Scott McKee, AUT – Outside the Square for The Oldest Catwalk Models in the World
  • Tiana Lyes, Acumen Republic for Countdown Food Rescue – establishing an ongoing programme of charitable giving

About Author

Comments are closed.