It’s a dog’s life: Colenso’s crafty canine Pedigree flow chart judged year’s best newspaper ad

Colenso BBDO is currently dealing with the loss of one of its biggest clients. But there was a ray of light last night at the Aotea centre when its ‘Home Alone’ ad for Pedigree Dog Food was given the newspaper ad of the year award and the creative team responsible for it took home the $10,000 booty.

  • Check out a hi-res version here.

Local judges for the Newspaper Ad of the Year and Digital Newspaper Advertisement of the Year were Mike Barnwell, Publicis Mojo; Dave Brady, DDB; Rob Jack, Special Group; Steve McCabe, DraftFCB and Antonio Navas, Saatchi & Saatchi.

And international chairman of judges Neil French felt the flow-chart ad was “near-perfect”.

“In the first place, it allows the reader to be involved…. the ad isn’t a puzzle (a genre which I loathe), but it does take a while to figure out. In the end, it gives the reward of a smile and a chortle, and of empathy with the brand. These people know what it’s like to be a dog.”

Slightly unusually, the ad wasn’t one of the monthly winners chosen throughout the year. And, away from print, Colenso’s Pedigree Doggelganger adoption drive campaign has been a bit of a viral hit.

Youtube Video The Digital Newspaper Advertisement of the Year award went to DDB for its McDonald’s Buffer Burger advertisement, which used—and then ignored—Shane Warne as part of its clever so tasty it sells itself campaign.

In a first for the NAB ad awards, the Great Debate/Cockfight took place. The topic was Art vs Copy and the importance of each in print and Toby Talbot’s team won mooting for copy, beating out ex creative/art director Paul Taylor’s team.

The Student Newspaper Advertising Competition for young’uns from AUT and The Media Design School, sponsored by The Press, was won by Salah Ben-Brahim and Zoe Hilton

from The Media Design School, for Cold Cases. They took home $500 for their trouble.

The 48 hour Topical News brief competition—and $250—was won by Craig Douglas and Paul Strong, also from The Media Design School, for their topical ad about Kronic.



Winner NAB Newspaper Advertisement of the Year



Executive Creative Director Nick Worthington

Creative Director Levi Slavin

Art Director Levi Slavin

Copywriter Levi Slavin/Dave Govier

Senior Account Director Karla Fisher

Senior Account Manager Dave Munn

Agency Producer Shayna Armstrong


Winner NAB Digital Newspaper Advertisement of the Year



Group Executive Creative Director Toby Talbot

Digital Creative Director Aaron Goldring

Digital Art Director/copywriter Ben Barnes

Art Director/copywriter Jonathan McMahon

Art Director/copywriter Lisa Fedyszyn

Photographer Michael Corridore

Group Business Director Zoe Alden

Business Director Susie Darling

Senior Business Manager Kate Eveleigh

VP/Director of Marketing Madeleine Fitzpatrick

National Marketing Manager Niki Lambert

Brand Manager Nathan James

Assistant Brand Manager Paba Wijayaratne

National Marketing Manager (NZ) Nikki Jeffcote



The Press 2011 Student Newspaper Award

Winners Salah Ben-Brahim & Zoe Hilton

Media Design School

Campaign Title Cold Cases


The Press Topical News Prize

Winners Craig Douglas & Paul Strong

Media Design School

Campaign Title Kronic Performer



About Author

Comments are closed.