Shopping reaps awards at the Moas – UPDATED

  • Awards
  • December 11, 2013
  • Damien Venuto
Shopping reaps awards at the Moas – UPDATED

By the time the curtains had been drawn at the end of New Zealand Film Awards, those sitting at the Shopping table had seven awards to carry home, making the film, which was released in New Zealand in May, the biggest winner of the night. 

The gritty bildungsroman, set in the 1980s along the Kapiti Coast, won the awards for best poster design, best cinematography, best supporting actress, best supporting actor, best screenplay, best director and best film.

The other standout performer on the evening was Mr Pip, which won four gongs, including the best actor and actress awards for Hugh Laurie and Xzannjah's leading roles in the film.  

Last night’s event at Shed 10 also capped off an award-filled year for production company The Sweet Shop’s directing duo of Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland, who in February picked up a Grand Prix at the Berlin International Film Festival for their work on the film.

When asked how international accolades compare to local recognition, Sutherland's response clearly reveals how important home is to him.

"Anything you win locally, especially with a home-spun story, is going to feel damn good. We love the great festivals that we've been privileged to be a part of, but having our locals acknowledge Shopping is a very heartfelt thing which goes beyond explanation... well it would take a few beers," he says.

But Shopping only forms part of the success that The Sweet Shop gang has enjoyed this year. In addition to working on the period film, The Sweet Shop has also been involved with the music video for Royals (which won a Tui at the New Zealand Music Awards), the Vodafone ‘workout’ advert and Steinlager’s ‘Be the artist, not the canvas’ campaign.

Despite it being a year filled with countless accolades, Sutherland does not hesitate when it comes to choosing the highlight of the year.

"Getting back home to our wives and families after so many months away in film head space is earthing. It's definitely a long journey we enjoyed finishing. Without sounding soft, us boys are all about our families and being back with them is what it's all about," he says. 

This marks the second year in a row that The Sweet Shop has been well awarded, with team also being listed as one of Creativity Magazine’sstandout production companies for 2012. And this is only the start, because Sutherland says that he looks forward to sharing more work with Kiwis in 2014. 

Full list of winners at the New Zealand Music Awards

Best Film:Shopping
Best Director: Shopping – Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston
Best Screenplay:Shopping – Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston
Best Actor:Mr Pip – Hugh Laurie
Best Actress:Mr PipXzannjah
Best Supporting Actor:Shopping – Julian Dennison
Best Supporting Actress:Shopping – Laura Petersen
Best Self-Funded Film: Crackheads – Tim Tsiklauri and Andy Sophocleous
Best Cinematography:Shopping – Ginny Loane
Best Editor:The Weight of Elephants – Molly Marlene Stensgaard
Best Score:Mr Pip – Harry Gregson-Williams and Tim Finn
Best Sound:Mt Zion – Dick Reade
Best Costume Design:Mr PipNgila Dickson
Best Makeup Design:White Lies – Abby Collins, Yolanda Bartram, Vee Gulliver, Andrew Beattie, Main Reactor and Roger Murray
Best Production Design:White Lies – Tracey Collins
Best Poster Design:Shopping – Geoff Francis
Best Self-Funded Short Film:Le Taxidermiste – Nick Mayow and PriscaBouchet
Best Short Film:Here Be Monsters – Paul Glubb, Nic Gorman and Nadia Maxwell
Best Short Film Actor:Strongman – Tony Green
Best Short Film Actress:Blind Mice – Rachel Nicholls
Best Cinematography in a Short Film:Echoes – Andrew Stroud
Best Short Film Script:Echoes – Campbell Hooper and Joel Kefali
Best Technical Contribution to a Short Film:Blankets – Visual Effects – Frank Rueter, David Duke and Bodo Keller
Best Documentary:Gardening With Soul – Vicky Pope and Jess Feast
Best Documentary Cinematography:Antarctica: A Year On Ice – Anthony Powell
Best Documentary Director:Beyond The Edge – Leanne Pooley
Best Documentary Editor:He TokiHuna: NZ in Afghanistan – Annie Goldson and James Brown
Best Television Feature or Drama Series:Top of the Lake – Jane Campion, Emile Sherman and Iain Canning
Lifetime Achievement Award: Geoff Murphy 

This is a community discussion forum. Comment is free but please respect our rules:

  1. Don’t be abusive or use sweary type words
  2. Don’t break the law: libel, slander and defamatory comments are forbidden
  3. Don’t resort to name-calling, mean-spiritedness, or slagging off
  4. Don’t pretend to be someone else.

If we find you doing these things, your comments will be edited without recourse and you may be asked to go away and reconsider your actions.
We respect the right to free speech and anonymous comments. Don’t abuse the privilege.

Hell launches ‘unruly tourist’ pizza

  • Advertising
  • January 21, 2019
  • StopPress Team
Hell launches ‘unruly tourist’ pizza

As the unruly tourists saga continues, Hell Pizza decided to join the conversation with a billboard 'launching' a limited edition pizza.

Read more
Next page
Results for

StopPress provides essential industry news and intelligence, updated daily. And the digital newsletter delivers the latest news to your inbox twice a week — for free!

©2009–2019 ICG Media. All rights reserved.
Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Privacy policy.


Contact Vernene Medcalf at +64 21 628 200 to advertise in StopPress.

View Media Kit