PRINZ Awards 2017: 29 of the nation’s best named as finalists

Finalists of Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) annual industry awards have been announced to give recognition to those producing excellent work in the industry.

From nearly 100 entries, 29 finalists have been named, with winners set to be recognised across a number of categories including internal communications, government and quasi-government, marketing communications, and not-for-profit, among others.

This year has also seen the addition of the ‘Communicating in Diversity’ and ‘PR Consultancy of the Year’ categories.

Winners of all categories except Consultancy of the Year will be considered for the Supreme Award and all winners are eligible to enter the global COMM PRIX Awards organised by the Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management. 

Chief judge and a fellow of the public relations institute Lisa Finucane said that it’s important the awards reflect what is happening in the PR profession and across the wider community.

“The art (and science) of public relations is used to help organisations, companies and individuals communicate with the people and groups that matter to them and that they matter to. This can include employees, local, national and international communities, shareholders, decision makers and regulators, customers, and the public. It’s important that our practices and our awards reflect this variety. That’s why the new communicating in diversity award is well overdue,” she said.

“Communicating with or from iwi, recognising that immigrant communities might need to be engaged with in a different way, and helping provide a voice for parts of our society that might not always have had one, are increasingly important to PR practitioners on behalf of the organisations we work for.”

This year, one of last year’s Supreme Award winners, Mango’s Claudia Macdonald, could be gracing the stage again for ‘Bringing Your Modem Out of the Closet’ for Orcon’s Designer Series alongside Sean Brown, and Zoe Pert, also from Mango, and Vocus Group New Zealand’s Sophia Berry-Smith.

Last year, Mango, Fuse and McDonald’s took home the Supreme Award for ‘Crave and rave – golden praise drives results for golden arches’.

The winners will be announced at a Gala dinner in Christchurch on 25 May.

The finalists also include:

‘Auckland Council Menacing Dogs Amnesty’ – Sharon Buckland, PR Locum Ltd; Samuel Baxter and Katherine Forbes, Auckland Council

‘Auckland has a plan for all of us – adopting the Auckland Unitary Plan’ – Wayne Godfrey, Auckland Council

‘Behind the Helmet – Crankworx Rotorua’ – Jacky James, Jenha Phillips, and Rebecca Roling, Shine PR 

‘Check for me before you turn the key’ (The Safekids Aotearoa driveway safety campaign) – Anthony Rola, Safekids New Zealand

‘Ethique – making beauty eco-friendly’ – Leigh Harris and Rhianna Bull, Convergence

‘Future Proofing Kidney Kids’ – Morgan MacFadyen, Emma Hilton, and Abby Berry, AUT University

‘Igniting the Runway – Tiki Āhua’ – Jacky James, Jenha Phillips, Rebecca Roling, Matt Hunt, and Julienne Fiddes, Shine PR

‘Let’s talk rubbish – community conversations and a record response for Hamilton City Council’ – Nigel Ward and Samantha Whittle, Hamilton City Council

‘Launching BNZ Android Pay by paying it forward’ – Strahan Wallis, Louisa Jones, Courtney Stayte, and Amy Hacon, Porter Novelli NZ; Katherine Cornish and Mark Watts, BNZ

‘Macular Degeneration Awareness Week campaign 2016’ – Anna Radford and Suzanne McNamara, Cadence Communications

‘Massey’s Olympic gold’ – Jenna Ward, Sidah Russell, Louise Vallant, Ryan Willoughby, Jennifer Little, and Paul Mulrooney, Massey University

‘#MissingType – more than just a hashtag’ – Sandy Trigg, Grace Vujnovich, and Simone van Asbeck, Network Communication; Asuka Burge, Annabel Coxon, and Nephi Arthur, New Zealand Blood Service

‘Moving hearts and minds – relocating staff and patients from iconic 1950s The Princess Margaret Hospital to state of the art new hospital facilities 20km away at Burwood Hospital’ – Karalyn van Deursen, Canterbury District Health Board

‘Multiple nudges result in new Lifejacket norm’ – Pania Shingleton, Vince Cholewa, Sandra Ford, and Mark Dittmer, Maritime New Zealand

‘Nothing but the facts – how Redcliffs won its school back’ – Chelsea Halliwell, Resolve Communications Now is our time! Building a better future for our whanau – Angela Campbell, Scott Campbell, and Rebecca Savory, Campbell Squared Communications

‘Promoting the 2016 Canterbury DHB Staff Wellbeing Survey’ – Donovan Ryan, Great Scott! Communications

‘#Roboqueue campaign owns iPhone 7 launch’ – Rewa Willis and Trish Sherson, Sherson Willis

‘Saving Sir Ed’s Antarctic legacy’ – Jo Scott, Great Scott! Communications; Yvonne Densem, Christchurch International Airport

‘SkyCity Auckland: Shifting Brand Perceptions’ – Colin Espiner, Kelly Armitage, Justene Taua, and Rebecca Foote, SKYCITY Entertainment Group

‘Share the Struggle – a community approach to domestic violence’ – Georgia Ward, Simon Cooper, Jodealyn Cadacio, and Boyan Buha, AUT University

‘The 2017 Colgate Games: New Zealand’s Junior Olympics’ – Raphael Hilbron, Sarah Austen-Smith, and Tessa Donovan, SenateSHJ

‘The search for the lost Lindauers: Reaching the regions for Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki’ – Olivia Boswell, Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

‘Tiger Streets of Singapore’ – Dallas Gurney, Cassidy Meredith, Kristy Von Minden, Lucy Harris, and Madeleine Wong, Spark PR & Activate

‘We’re better, connected; ‘Workplace by Facebook’’ – Daniel Chasemore, James Walker, and Sarah Tora, Countdown

And the three finalists for the Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year Award are Alex Harman from One Plus One Communications, Emma Schuler from Comvita and Lizi Guest from Blacksheepdesign.

About Author

Comments are closed.