2021 Voyager Media Awards open for entry

The News Publisher’s Association (NPA) have announced that entries are now open for the 2021 Voyager Media Awards.

A number of changes have been introduced this year, ensuring the awards continue to celebrate and showcase the very best of New Zealand journalism while reflecting the ever-evolving news media industry.

There are four new dedicated ‘Best columnist’ specialty awards, and together with the feature writing awards, Reporter of the Year, Regional Journalist of the Year, and Community Journalist of the Year, there are 14 written-only awards to choose from.

The pandemic has brought into stark relief the impact of quality science journalism and the role of science in supporting media reporting more broadly. In recognition of this, the winner of the Science Journalist of the Year award will for the first time receive a $2500 cash award, sponsored by the Science Media Centre.

Along with the new awards, the conditions for some existing awards have been revised. 

Entrants, along with editorial managers and team leaders should note the introduction of award entry fees. Entries from NPA member organisations will be charged $20 per entry, while entries from non-NPA organisations will be charged $45 per entry.

Information on the 60 awards, along with the entry and judging criteria, can be found here.    

Entries close at 1pm on Friday, February 26. 

The list of finalists will be released in April. The 2021 Voyager Media Awards will culminate with a celebration of winners in May, with details to follow in due course.     

About Author

Comments are closed.