MPA revamp awards for 2010

The Magazine Publishers Association is calling – nay, yelling – for entries to the revamped 2010 Magazine Awards. It’s a chance to win recognition for yourself, your title and your team (and, if you win, to shamelessly dance on the tables).

“The Magazine Awards 2010 caters for a changed business environment, and ensures that winners can brand more strongly against their success”, says MPA executive director John McClintock. “As well as creating a new visual identity, we have introduced new awards and new categories, recognising innovation in the industry and the diversity of target audiences catered for by magazines”.

The annual competition, now in its 14th year, is to be referred to as The Magazine Awards.

“Over time, the branding has slipped into the colloquial term ‘MPA Awards’, but this year stronger branding will put the focus back where it should be – showcasing the best in magazine publishing in this country,” he says.

The Magazine Awards are the only awards dedicated to all aspects of magazine publishing in New Zealand. As well as member publishers entering their staff writers, any journalist or columnist now has the opportunity to enter and pay on their own behalf, conditional on their submission being from titles published by MPA members.

“With a large pool of contributing writer talent we felt now is an ideal time to extend the entry criteria,” McClintock says.

Entry forms for The Magazine Awards 2010 are available at the MPA website and entries close on 13 April. Observant media types may notice a few changes, with three new awards up for grabs.

  • Publishing Leadership: this will recognise an individual or a company for excellent application of a concept, strategy, technique, project, product or tool, or for achieving another significant advance for the magazine industry. Nominations of either suppliers or publishers from throughout the magazine industry are called for, who do not have to be a member of the MPA.

  • Best Print & Digital Integration: this allows publishers to cover a wider spectrum of their portfolio than in previous years, reflecting the new areas that magazine publishers are performing in.

  • Best Marketing Campaign: this allows publishers to showcase their best self promotion campaigns.

And, to reflect an expanding membership and the diversity of target audiences catered for by magazines, new categories have also been introduced:

  • Youth & Pop Culture
  • Family, Health & Wellbeing
  • General Interest & Entertainment
  • Custom & Membership Publishing

2010 sees an expanded judging panel, comprising media commentators, writers and business leaders from around New Zealand and Australia. The Awards are known for a rigorous six week judging process. And, to be recognised as a finalist, entrants must achieve higher than a 75 percent score according to comprehensive criteria.

The discipline of submitting an entry has benefits both for individuals and publishing businesses – regardless of whether the entry achieves a finalist or winning status. In addition, achieving a placing makes a strong statement to staff, employers, advertisers, media peers, publishing stakeholders and readers, which can be capitalised on in various ways.

About Author

One of the talented StopPress Team of Content Producers made this post happen.

Comments are closed.