Moore gets nod as all-powerful CAANZ leader

Sandy Moore, chief executive of DDB Group New Zealand, has been elected president of CAANZ for a two-year term, taking over from DraftFCB’s Bryan Crawford.

Moore has been with DDB for 20 years and has had a diverse career that has seen him work with a number of leading companies and some of the best creative minds in the business.

“I’m honoured to take on the position of CAANZ president and bring my 35 years of industry experience to the table,” he says. “I see my primary role as generating a collective focus to the opportunities and challenges confronting agencies and their clients.”

Moore, whose nomination was put forward yesterday, brings proven leadership and extensive industry experience, which “will be invaluable in further positioning agencies as strategic partners to client organisations,” says CAANZ chief executive Rick Osborne.

“The make-up of the CAANZ board and election of new officers reflects members’ desire for a more strategic view of industry issues.”

In a first for CAANZ, which collectively represents 95 percent of agency billings in New Zealand and a combined annual turnover of approximately $1 billion, Derek Lindsay, managing director of DraftFCB Media, becomes the first media agency head to be elected vice president.

Osborne wouldn’t detail the other nominations and, just like choosing a new pope, he says there are some things that are better left unsaid.

Osborne says Crawford stepped down earlier this year, 12 months into his two-year term, to focus on DrafFCB’s Australasian business and for personal reasons. Typically, he says the vice-president takes over after the president’s term is finished, but long-serving CAANZ boardmember and Y&R chief exec Jon Ramage also stepped down this year for business reasons.

Osbourne says Ramage won’t be able to completely escape his responsibility to the industry, however, because he is still chairman of the Axis awards.

The recently elected board has a few new faces, with Saatchi & Saatchi chief executive Nicky Bell, Colenso’s managing director Nick Garrett, Mitchells (and now Aegis) managing director Philip O’Neill and Clemenger BBDO’s Mike Higgins.

The board is:

  • Nick Garrett (Colenso BBDO)
  • Nicky Bell (Saatchi & Saatchi)
  • Sandy Moore (DDB)
  • Neil Cameron (Harvey Cameron)
  • Derek Lindsay (Draft FCB Media)
  • Alistair Jamison (Starcom)
  • Ron Sneddon (Mr Smith)
  • Philip O’Neil (Mitchells)
  • Mike Higgins (Clemenger BBDO)
  • Claudia Macdonald (Mango)

About Author

Comments are closed.