MediaWorks rakes in mega haul at NZ Radio Awards, including station of the year for The Sound

The unseen but often heard stars of New Zealand’s radio industry took some time to pat themselves on the back last night, celebrating another year of achievements at the New Zealand Radio Awards.

MediaWorks came out on top this year, taking home 21 gongs including the coveted network station of the year award for The Sound (which rebranded from Solid Gold early last year). The multi-disciplinary broadcaster also won best radio website for therock.net.nz. MediaWorks’ dance music station George FM won its first ever radio award for its Steal This T-Shirt promotional campaign. Radio Live’s Amanda Snow was acknowledged for her reporting over the last year with the best individual journalist award.

The Radio Network pulled in a respectable haul of 14 awards, including best new broadcaster for Classic Hits’ Jordan Brannigan,  best talk back host for Leighton Smith of Newstalk ZB, and best sports presenter for Tony Veitch. ZB’s coverage of the Hobsonville tornado won the best team coverage of a news story category.

Radio New Zealand won 11 awards, although most were in categories where it doesn’t have much competition such as best radio drama and best radio documentary. Kim Hill won best talk or current affairs host for her work on Saturday Morning with Kim Hill, along with an outstanding contribution to radio award.

The full list of New Zealand Radio Awards winners can be seen below:

About Author

Comments are closed.