Marketing minds pass the test, get call-up for Media Awards judging

CAANZ has rung plenty of changes to the awards programme this year. And, for the first time, it asked industry big brains to apply or be nominated for their positions on the judging panel in an effort to add a bit of gravitas. And after 96 applications and 20 nominations were received, the CAANZ Media Awards Committee has announced 89 successful candidates for the preliminary round of judging.

“As the outcome of the awards programme really does depend on the expertise of the judges, we believe that the 2012 Media Awards will accurately reflect the current thinking from the frontline of the media industry,” says Paul Head, CAANZ chief executive.

Convenor of judges, Mark Jenner, says the number and quality of judging applications was impressive and has proven the changes made both to the overall media awards process and to the approach used to select and appoint judges are positive and welcomed.

“One of our goals was to broaden the experience levels and knowledge base of our judges, and so we are especially pleased with the number of very senior executives from our creative agency partners who have made themselves available. Inevitably, some people have missed out on selection for this year’s panel. But we trust they will continue to support our industry’s initiatives and apply for next year’s panels.”

From the list of preliminary judges, 18 category judges will be selected to judge the next round. Category judges will be announced in the coming weeks.

WELLINGTON: Monday 19th March

  • Andrew Holt Clemenger BBDO
  • Annabelle Wilkinson OMD
  • Craig Osborne OMD
  • Desiree Hales Starcom
  • Gerard Duignan ikon Communications
  • Grant Maxwell MEC
  • Lee Parkinson iKon Communications
  • Livia Esterhazy Saatchi & Saatchi
  • Matt Bale MBM
  • Matt McNeil OMD
  • Sean Keaney Clemenger BBDO
  • Steve Dimakis MEC
  • Stuart Lewis Broadcast Map

AUCKLAND: Tuesday 20th March

  • Al Jamison Starcom
  • Alexander Radford VivaKi
  • Amanda Murphy AJM Consulting
  • Andrew Reinholds OMD
  • Andy McLeish Colenso BBDO
  • Anna St George Lassoo Media and PR
  • Anne Lipsham DraftFCB Media
  • Annemarie Duff TVNZ
  • Barry Williamson MEC Global
  • Bridgette Franklin Lassoo Media and PR
  • Camille Turton Barnes Catmur & Friends
  • Claire Carroll Spark PHD
  • Craig Spillane Bullseye Media
  • Daniel Robertson MSN
  • Darryn Melrose M&C Saatchi
  • David Thomason DraftFCB
  • Eddy Whatt Ogilvy
  • Elaine Gibbons Ogilvy
  • Fay Laurenson OMD
  • Gill Stewart The Radio Bureau
  • Guy Cousins Spark PHD
  • Jacquie Pierson OMD
  • James Roberts iKon Communications
  • Jeremy O’Brien TVNZ
  • Jo Reid Starcom
  • John Buckley Mediacom
  • John Schofield Catch Media
  • Jonothan Allen Carat
  • Justin Mowday DDB
  • Kate Thomas OMD
  • Kevin Blight Media MAP
  • Laura Maxwell-Hansen Yahoo! New Zealand
  • Lee Ann Morris OMD
  • Linda Farrelly Mediaworks
  • Liz Fraser MSN
  • Louise Bond Spark PHD
  • Lucinda Sherborne DDB
  • Lyndsey Francis Total Media
  • Mark Reekie Blackfoot
  • Matt O’Sullivan Naked Communications
  • Melanie Reece Mediaworks
  • Michael Redwood Special Group
  • Murray Streets Saatchi & Saatchi
  • Natasha Le Marinel Total Media
  • Nick Ascough Starcom
  • Nick Garrett Colenso BBDO
  • Nicky Greville Spark PHD
  • Nigel Douglas Mediacom
  • Nikki Grafton Spark PHD
  • Nikki Rogers PHDiQ
  • Nimesh Amin Fairfax Media
  • Paul Maher TVNZ
  • Rachel Cormack TVNZ
  • Rachel Leyland DraftFCB
  • Rawinia Newton Sky Television
  • Richard Fenner Mediaworks
  • Richard Head Colmar Brunton
  • Richard Thompson Starcom
  • Robert Harvey Aegis
  • Ryf Quail ZenithOptimedia
  • Sally Falconer Starcom
  • Sandra King Fairfax Media
  • Sarah Beston Starcom
  • Sean Mcready MBM
  • Simon Bird Naked Communications
  • Simon Teagle DraftFCB Media
  • Sophie Quilian ZenithOptimedia
  • Spencer Bailey APN
  • Stuart Jamieson Nielsen Media Research
  • Stuart Rutherford Spark PHD
  • Susan Browne Ogilvy
  • Suzanne Bull JWT
  • Tara Cowan OMD
  • Terri Collier DraftFCB
  • Tony Burt M&C Saatchi
  • Vanessa Williams Total Media

About Author

Comments are closed.