Finalists announced for 2021 Voyager Media Awards

A total of 280 finalists across 66 awards have been selected in the 48th annual New Zealand Voyager Media Awards, celebrating excellence in journalism. 

The 90 judges based in nine countries around the world – including New Zealand, Australia, UK, USA, Rarotonga, Hungary, Qatar, Singapore and Malaysia – have co-judged in groups of between two and four to select winners from 1,443 entries. 

The judges were impressed by the high calibre of entries put forward after the unique and challenging situation that journalists in 2020 found themselves in, with one judge saying: “The judges…would like to acknowledge that 2020 was a tough year to be a journalist. With trust in Government at record levels, holding power to account took a great deal of judgement and resolve. 

“The winning entry had to preserve the traditional role of journalism as society’s conscience while engaging constructively with this new context. Beyond that, journalists – and indeed all New Zealanders – were being confronted with a pandemic, the magnitude of which we’d never seen before.”

The full list of finalists can be found here.

Tickets to the 2021 celebration went on sale to all finalists yesterday. Remaining tickets will then be available for purchase from Monday, April 19 via the Voyager Media Awards website.

Voyager Media Awards Celebration 

Date: Friday 28 May

Start time: Networking drinks from 6pm, award formalities from 7pm

Finish time: 10pm (approximately)

Venue: Auckland Town Hall

Dress code: Cocktail

About Author

Comments are closed.