Comms Council announce Sandy Smith Inspiring Individual Award

The Comms Council and Warner Bros. Discovery are searching for the industry’s most inspirational leaders, with nominations now open for the Inspiring Individual Award.

Nominated by their peers, the Inspiring Individual is the “unsung hero” in an organisation; the person who inspires others with their generosity of spirit, patience, willingness and passion, and who is integral to the company’s culture and success.

Warner Bros. Discovery Senior Director, Donna Gurney says: ”Developing diverse talent within our industry has never been more important and it is our privilege to do so in honour of Sandy, recognising the positive impact she made on so many people. This $10,000 award isn’t about who sits at the top of the org chart, it’s about recognising someone who goes out of their way to make a difference, making our industry a better place for all.”

Sandy Smith worked in the media industry for more than 25 years, building many enduring client relationships. Her expertise and understanding of the sector led to her involvement in groups dedicated to improving advertising standards, research and addressing key industry issues.

The Inspiring Individual Award was launched in May 2011 at the Comms Council Media Awards. The inaugural recipient was Richard Fenner, then of Spark PHD. Other recipients of this Award have been Liz Fraser, who at the time was General Manager MSN.co.nz and chairwoman of the IAB; Alistair Jamison, CEO, Starcom & VivaKi NZ and the 2013 winner, Louise Bond, CEO of Spark PHD, Claire Harris from Nielsen in 2014, Chrissy Payne of OMD in 2015, Julia-Ann Hedges in 2016, Matt Bale, Co-founder of MBM in 2017, Robert Harvey CEO of Dentsu in 2018, Anne Lipsham, Head of Strategy at FCB Media in 2019, and Sean McCready, Managing Partner at MBM in 2021.

Nominations should include an explanation as to why the nominated individual is deserving of this award.  A nomination form can be downloaded via the Comms Council website (www.commscouncil.nz).  Completed nominations should be sent to [email protected] by 4:00pm, Friday, May 20, 2022.

The winner of the Sandy Smith Inspiring Individual Award will be announced at the Beacon Awards Show on June 9, 2022 and will receive $10,000 to be used to further their education – an opportunity to gain further experience and knowledge to be shared. 

About Author

One of the talented StopPress Team of Content Producers made this post happen.

Comments are closed.