2021 Voyager Media Awards winners announced

Winners across 66 awards were celebrated at the annual Voyager Media Awards on Friday evening at a glitzy cocktail event at the Auckland Town Hall.

Toni Street hosted the festivities, celebrating excellence in journalism and covering nine categories including digital, feature writing, general, magazines, newspapers, photography, reporting, video and scholarships. 

The industry was brought together en masse for the first time in two years after the cancellation of 2020’s event due to Covid.

Big winners included Carmen Parahi for Editorial Executive of the Year, The Weekend Press for Newspaper of the Year, Brett Phibbs for Photographer of the Year, NZ Herald for News App of the Year and News Website of the Year, Alison Mau for Reporter of the Year and Mark Crysell for Broadcast Reporter of the Year.

Brook Cameron, GM of the NPA which manages the Awards, says: “It was wonderful to be able to bring everyone together in person to recognise and celebrate the outstanding quality of journalism and commitment of journalists from across New Zealand media organisations during what was a very challenging year.”

Stuff picked up 19 wins across the 66 categories, with #MetooNZ Editor Alison Mau being crowned the coveted Reporter of the Year and Pou Tiaki Editor Carmen Parahi taking away Editorial Executive of the Year. 

Judges praised Mau for her contribution to New Zealand’s social improvement in 2020. 

“Alison Mau’s revelations concerning two well-known figures in New Zealand’s academic life were fearless, determined pursuits that deserve the highest commendation.”

The New Zealand Herald’s editorial teams collected the coveted “digital double”, winning the supreme Website of the Year and App of the Year accolades.

It’s the second year in a row that NZME’s flagship news teams have won both awards.

The judges described nzherald.co.nz as “a clear winner”. Of the NZ Herald App, they said that along with the app’s clear edge in design and functionality, “the Herald’s range of contributors, ability to own the big event and more consistent targeting to a national audience got it home.”

NZME managing editor Shayne Currie says: “Winning Website of the Year is a massive achievement in any year. To win it this year, and for a second straight time, holds special significance.”

To see the full results, including the winners’ work and judges’ comments, click here.

View the live stream recording of the event here.

About Author

Comments are closed.