18 Kiwi go-getters in line for EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award

EY, which until recently was Ernst & Young, has announced the finalists of this year’s EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards.

The list of finalists (find out more about them here) includes a wide range of industries, from pharmaceutical to dairy, tax, shoes, bread and a couple in the marcomms space. 

“Despite the diverse industries they operate in, nearly all have achieved double-digit growth during the past four years, proving that entrepreneurs have a natural ability to identify and monetise opportunities in the market,” says awards director Jon Hooper. “Equally important in the current market is the growth of employee numbers that each of this year’s finalists has achieved. This makes it vital that the contribution entrepreneurs make to our nation’s economic and financial viability is acknowledged by giving them a seat at the table with policy makers.”

And the finalists are: 

  • Sean Armstrong (Loaf Handcraft Breads)
  • Dr Hartley Atkinson (AFT Pharmaceuticals)
  • Lester Binns (MyTax.co.nz)
  • Jennifer Boggiss (Heilala Vanilla)
  • Mark Bryan (VetSouth)
  • Rod Drury (Xero)
  • Georgie Falloon (Willow Shoes)
  • John Fiso (New Zealand Institute of Sport)
  • Steve Gianoutsos (Mojo Coffee)
  • Murray Holdaway (Vista Entertainment Solutions)
  • Guy Horrocks (Carnival Labs)
  • Ian Kuperus (Tax Management New Zealand)
  • Sam Minnée (SilverStripe)
  • Dr John Penno (Synlait Milk)
  • Phil Pietersen (ClearPoint)
  • John Plato (Plato Design Agency)
  • Cecilia Robinson (My Food Bag/Au Pair Link)
  • Ryan Sanders (Haka Tourism Group)

New Zealand’s 2013 EY Entrepreneur Of The Year category winners will be announced on 23 August. The programme launched 27 years ago in the US and launched in New Zealand in 1998. In that time, it has expanded to more than 140 cities in 50 countries, with awards presented annually to over 900 of the world’s most successful and innovative entrepreneurs.

The winner goes on to represent New Zealand at the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards in Monte Carlo.

About Author

Comments are closed.