New talent joins First Five Rungs

Comms Council industry youth leadership group, First Five Rungs, has welcomed four new members to the team to help connect and support emerging talent in the communications industry.

Ayaan Shaikh (OMD), Lily Tootill (MBM), Leo Shum (Dentsu) and Lydia Sleeman-Bailey (The Monkeys) have joined the now 12-strong Auckland team.

First Five Rungs Auckland Chair Zoë MacDonald-Mair says the appointments come from a variety of perspectives within the industry, all with different experiences and expertise, bringing invaluable insight to the committee as it begins its 2024 planning.

“We’ve been rapidly building on our committee pillars in the last year, and while we’ve achieved much, the job to support those new to our industry is one that still has much to do. I’m thrilled to see the difference we can make with fresh new perspectives on the FFR committee,” she says.

Simon Lendrum, CEO of the Comms Council adds: “We’re very proud of the work that the First Five Rungs continues to do and welcome the new members with experience from media buying, strategy and activation.”

MacDonald-Mair says 2023 was a “pivotal year” for the First Five Rungs in which they continued to hold events, and launched the FFR Shadow Judging initiative.

Along wth this there has been renewed focus on creating more opportunities for people new to the industry.

“Whether that’s networking, providing encouragement or offering professional guidance. The more the First Five Rungs does, the more we see we can achieve. We have a strong sense of purpose, aided by our research backed initiatives, to drive us forward into the new year.”

The new team join existing members Zoë MacDonald-Mair, Chair (Quantum Jump), Chelsea Bostock, Deputy Chair (DDB), Courtney Spillane, Secretary  (Special), Guy Perry (FCB), Lucciane Surtees (Dentsu), Grace Chittock (Spark Foundry) Ben Kidd (DDB) and Andrew Eiseman (Dentsu).

The Auckland First Five Rungs works in conjunction with the FFR in the Capital – Aroha Gell, Chair (VMLY&R), Tayler Gover, Deputy Chair (OMD), Callum Doyle, Secretary (VMLY&R), Thomasina Ferrall (MBM), Kayleigh Besseling (MBM) and Tylah Kiriona-Mckenzie (Clemenger BBDO).

About Author

Avatar photo

One of the talented StopPress Team of Content Producers made this post happen.