The winners: 2021 NZ Radio Awards

The 2021 New Zealand Radio Awards were held at Auckland’s SkyCity last night and Mike Hosking scooped the ultimate accolade, being named 2021’s Sir Paul Holmes Broadcaster of the Year.

It’s the second time the Newstalk ZB Breakfast host has been awarded the country’s most prestigious broadcasting award.

Hosking said: “While it’s my name on the show, there’s a hard-working team that ensures this show is the best it can be every day. 

“Thank you to our loyal advertisers and our audience for rewarding us by listening each day as we strive to keep them informed in a world where the truth is all too often shrouded in obfuscation and even worse – avoidance.”

Hosking’s award capped a big night for Newstalk ZB which was named New Zealand’s Network Station of the Year. Best Talk Presenter was won by Newstalk ZB Nights host Marcus Lush, and Political Editor Barry Soper won Best Reporter.

Fletch, Vaughan and Megan

NZME’s music radio networks were also big winners with ZM’s Breakfast show with Carl Fletcher, Vaughan Smith and Megan Papas winning the fiercely competitive Best Network Breakfast Show award.

And it was a big night for The Hits, with The Hits Breakfast duo Jono Pryor and Ben Boyce winning the coveted ‘The Blackie Award’, while The Hit’s Dunedin breakfast team Callum Procter and Patrina Roche won best local breakfast show.

Jono and Ben

Amongst NZME’s other winners were Newstalk ZB’s Phil Gifford for his Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting. Best Sports Reader, Presenter or Commentator went to The Alternative Commentary Collective, and NZME’s Auckland sales team won Sales Team of the Year.

MediaWorks is also celebrating with The Rock Drive with Jay and Dunc winning Best Music Team Show, Robert Scott from The Breeze Drive show winning Best Music Host, and Jayden King from The Edge Afternoons with Sharyn & Jayden winning Best New Broadcaster – On-Air.

More FM won Best Content Team and MediaWorks also took out all five awards in the Best Promotion category, which included The Edge team winning Best Website and Social Content. The Breeze team also took home four awards for its Coca-Cola Christmas on The Breeze event.

The Associated Craft accolade went to the MediaWorks technology team for its work in the set up of the company’s studios and IT infrastructure at its new purpose-built head office in Auckland.

Steve Rowe and Mike Berry also received Services to Broadcasting awards.

About Author

Comments are closed.