Special lead the way at shortlist stage of Campaign Asia ‘Agency of the Year’ awards.

Special leads the New Zealand agency pack by some way with 9 finalists across Agency of the Year categories including ‘New Zealand Agency of the Year’ which they won last year.

Special are the only New Zealand finalist in the increasingly important ‘Best Place to Work’ and ‘Best Culture’ categories across Australia and New Zealand.

Next in the Kiwi pack is Motion Sickness with four finalists, Socialites & DDB with two each and TBWA with a single finalist.

Each category has been judged by a panel consisting of leading CMO’s, Head’s of Marketing and General Managers across the Asia-Pacific region, and the results are verified by PWC in Singapore.

Special also lead the way in the People of the Year categories with five nominated across the six categories.

Special Founder Tony Bradbourne is shortlisted again for the title he won last year ‘Agency Head of the Year’, alongside fellow kiwis Nikki Grafton of PHD and Wendy Thompson & Melanie Spencer of Socialites Group.

Special’s Lisa Fedyszyn is shortlisted alongside DDB’s Gary Steele for ‘Creative Person of the Year’, Special’s Priyanka Patel and John Marshall are the sole New Zealand finalists for ‘Account Person of the Year’ & ‘Young Business Leader of the Year’. And DDB’s Rupert Price is shortlisted for ‘Strategic Brand Planner of the Year’ against Special’s Rory Gallery, who won the title last year. And to cap off a dominate showing from Special, their work with Optus is one of only two finalists in the ‘Australia/New Zealand Agency Marketer Partnership of the Year’.

The winners will be announced in early December.

Agency Finalists:

New Zealand Agency of the Year: Special, DDB, Motion Sickness & TBWA

Digital Agency of the Year: Special & Tribal DDB

New Zealand Media of the Year: OMD, Dentsu & PHD

NZ/AUS Agency Marketing Partnership of the Year: Special/Optus & Verticurl/Estee Lauder

NZ/AUS Best Culture: Special NZ&AUS, AnalogFolk, The Royals, The Works, Thrive PR

NZ/AUS Best Place to Work: Special NZ&AUS, Host/Havas, Ogilvy Australia, Initiative, The Royals.

NZ/AUS Boutique Agency of the Year: Central Station, History will be Kind, Motion Sickness

NZ/AUS Content Marketing Agency of the Year: Special NZ&AUS, AnalogFolk, Motion Sickness

NZ/AUS Independent Agency of the Year: Special NZ&AUS, AnalogFolk, History will be Kind, Socialites Group, The Royals

NZ/AUS Integrated Marketing Agency of the Year: Special NZ&AUS, TBWA AUS, Archetype, Icon Agency

NZ/AUS Production Company of the Year: Media.Monks, Motion Sickness, Tag

NZ/AUS Social Media Agency of the Year: Special NZ&AUS, Socialites, Fuse, DDB, AnalogFolk

People Finalists:

NZ/AUS Account Person of the Year: Kristie Thistlethwaite / The Works, Priyanka Patel / Special

NZ/AUS Agency Head of the Year: Tony Bradbourne / Special, Emma-Jane Granleese / History will be Kind, Nikki Grafton / PHD, Melissa Fein / Initiative, Wendy Thompson & Melanie Spencer / Socialites Group

NZ/AUS Creative Person of the Year: Lisa Fedyszyn / Special, Gary Steele / DDB, Rob Omodiagbe / Just Global, Shivani Maharaj / Wave Maker

NZ/AUS Strategic/Brand Planner of the Year: Rory Gallery / Special, Chris Colter / Initiative, Rupert Price / DDB, Ryan O’Connell / Ogilvy AUS

NZ/AUS Yound Achiever of the Year: Katie Shrubb / DDB, Maddison Colgate / Zeno Group, Rebecca Wheatley / INVNT, Summer Treseder / Initiative AUS

NZ/AUS Young Business Leader of the Year: John Marshall / Special, Jasmine Lansdell / The Works

About Author