A short history of nearly everything (marketing): TVNZ-NZ Marketing Awards open for business

The search has begun for the next 26 winners keen to etch their names in the nation’s marketing history, with the call for entries for the 2014 TVNZ-NZ Marketing Awards now open.

The awards, a partnership between the Marketing Association and Tangible Media, recognise and celebrate the skills, expertise and work of marketing professionals that result in great business outcomes for their organisations—whatever their size—and provide thought leadership for the industry across the full scope of the marketing discipline.

Now in their 23rd year and judged by senior marketers and leading chief executives,​ they are the only awards programme in New Zealand that focuses on the essential business disciplines and business benefits of great marketing. And since they were relaunched in 2012 under the Everything Marketing brand, they have grown significantly in terms of entry numbers and attendees. 

“As we hunt for this year’s winners, the theme is all about celebrating work that’s going to ‘Make Marketing History,’” says Vincent Heeringa, publisher of NZ Marketing. “We have an illustrious history of marketing leadership, innovation and creativity in this country, so entrants will need to demonstrate that creativity, energy, tenacity and dedication—and have the results to prove it.”

The industry awards (see all the categories here) acknowledge marketing initiatives and/or projects that are clear examples of marketing leadership and success within each industry sector, and the judges’ choice awards recognise excellence in specific disciplines of marketing, regardless of the industry. Two new categories have been introduced into the industry awards section this year: healthcare and media/publishing.

“We are really looking forward to seeing marketers in these new categories recognised amongst their peers,” says MA chair Debra Hall.

There are no changes to the individual awards, which include rookie marketer of the year, marketer of the year and the marketing excellence award, which was presented to Mark Callaghan, chief executive of Frucor Beverages, last year. Nominations for inductees into the Marketing Hall of Fame are also sought. Entries into these individual categories increased by 15 percent last year. 

Heading up the sponsor line-up once again is TVNZ, with Colmar Brunton, Boston Digital, BrandWorld, Image Centre Group, Mailshop, Morton Estate, News Works, New Zealand Trade & Enterprise and new sponsors APN and Ubiquity also on board.

Entry forms and a full list of categories are available at the awards website www.everythingmarketing.co.nzEntries close Friday 23 May 2014 at 5pm. An extended ‘late entries’ deadline of 5pm on Friday 30 May is available (at a nominal fee). 

And if you’re keen to increase your chances of winning, check out some hints and tips from Coca-Cola Amatil’s Wendy Rayner (a past Marketer of the Year recipient), Ben Cochrane of The Business and Vaughan Schwass of Les Mills International. 

About Author

Comments are closed.