Retail giants rejoice as Progressive and NZ Lotteries dominate TVNZ-NZ Marketing Awards

The 2011 TVNZ-NZ Marketing Awards were dished out last night at the Langham in Auckland in front of around 450 industry bods and a host of game changers and bar-raisers—some well-accustomed to collecting such awards, some venturing up on stage for the first time—were announced. But it was Progressive Enterprises that came away with the most coveted award of the night for merging three of its supermarket brands into one and forging a bold new positioning based on an enhanced definition of consumer value.

After upping its market share and turning the tide on Foodstuffs, the judges felt the outstanding results were evidence of a well-aligned business strategy that was accelerated by a superbly executed marketing and communications plan. As such, it was deemed worthy of both the Fairfax Media Supreme Award and the Morton Estate Retail Award.

Similarly, New Zealand Lotteries had twice the reason to celebrate. In addition to winning the Fast Moving Consumer Goods Marketing Award for its hugely successful relaunch of Instant Kiwi, its head of marketing Wendy Rayner joined the likes of Gillian Munnik, Geoff Ross and Adam Maxwell as the 2011 Marketer of the Year after helping to increase overall sales by $250 million during her tenure.

Convenor of judges and awards co-host Sue McCarty, who shared the microphone duties with Vincent Heeringa and MC Te Radar, acknowledged Rayner’s “passion for the industry” and her achievements in revitalising the Lotto brand, the largest retail network in New Zealand.

Also stamping his name into the annals of marketing history was AUT University’s Max Woodhead, who was praised by judge Catherine Beard from Business NZ for being “incredibly influential for his age and experience” and “able to achieve great results with an incredibly low budget, which shows a huge amount of resourcefulness and creativity”.

Completing the trio of individual awards was Jeremy Irwin who, unable to attend the awards night itself, was inducted into the Marketing Hall of Fame a week ahead of the awards night. Irwin was applauded for his immense contribution to the industry, particularly when defending his members’ rights to advertise and helping bring about a much closer understanding between advertisers, agencies and media.

Past marketing award winners Air New Zealand, 2degrees, Les Mills International and Frucor Beverages all took category wins for their typically outstanding marketing initiatives, while up and coming businesses like Marine Industrial Design, Powershop, All Good Organics and Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon were also rewarded for their impressive strategies, innovations and business results.

Rounding out the awards were New Zealand Book Month’s brave and very successful ‘Books Change Lives’ campaign and the Ministry of Health’s amazingly effective and already much awarded e-therapy depression management programme, The Journal.

  • The full list of winners can be found below or at www.nzmarketingawards.co.nz. Indepth stories on all the winners will feature in the September/October edition of NZ Marketing magazine, which you can subscribe to here. And we’ll be running brief excerpts about all of the category winners on StopPress for the next couple of weeks, along with videos of judges’ comments on the winners that were filmed by TVNZ.

2011 TVNZ-NZ Marketing Awards Winners

Mailshop Business Marketing Award: Marine Industrial Design ‘A Voyage of Discovery’

Hotfoot Consumer Marketing Award: Air New Zealand ‘Air New Zealand’ redefining long haul’

University of Otago School of Business Emerging Business Award: 2degrees ‘Stay 2degrees’

New Zealand Trade and Enterprise Export Marketing Award: Les Mills International ‘Fit for export: CX30 and Sh’Bam’

BrandWorld Fast Moving Consumer Goods Marketing Award: New Zealand Lotteries ‘It can all change in an instant’

Not-for-Profit Award: New Zealand Book Month ‘Books Change Lives’

Morton Estate Wines Retail Award: Progressive Enterprises ‘Countdown – Best Value Supermarket in New Zealand’

Public Sector Marketing Award: Ministry of Health ‘The Journal’

TVNZ Innovation in Marketing Award: Powershop ‘The Power of the People’

Colmar Brunton Most Authentic Brand Award: Frucor Beverages ‘New V Energy Frontiers’

carboNZero programme Sustainability Award: All Good Organics ‘All Good Bananas’

AUT University Transformational Marketing Award: Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon

Fairfax Media Supreme Award: Progressive Enterprises ‘Countdown – Best Value Supermarket in New Zealand’

Pacific Micromarketing Marketer of the Year Award: Wendy Rayner, New Zealand Lotteries.

&some Rookie Marketer of the Year Award: Max Woodhead, AUT University

TVNZ Marketing Hall of Fame Award: Jeremy Irwin


About Author

Comments are closed.