Radio awards celebrate the best on the airwaves for 2022

New Zealand’s radio industry talent was recognised last night at the 2022 New Zealand Radio Awards, celebrating on-air personalities to content and everything in between.

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony presented by Māni Dunlop (RNZ), Robert Rakete (MediaWorks) and Stacey Morrison (NZME) at Sky City Theatre in Auckland.

Jana Rangooni, NZ Radio Awards Chairman, says New Zealand has one of the most diverse and competitive radio landscapes in the world which is why it continues to stay so relevant in listeners lives.

“It is great to be able celebrate the work of so many talented people across the industry tonight…All the industry deserves credit for that, as well as tonight’s winners.”

The Outstanding Contribution to Radio industry award went to Brendan Smyth, formerly at NZ on Air for his work on increasing the percentage of local music on commercial radio and Dame Hinewehi Mohi for her contribution to the significant increase in Te Reo Māori hit songs being played on New Zealand radio.

“This is the first time we have ever given the Outstanding Contribution to Radio Award to anyone working outside the actual industry and reflects the tremendous and lasting impact these two have had on how radio in New Zealand sounds. We are all richer for their vision and actions,” says Rangooni.

NZME was a big winner on the night with Newstalk ZB taking home Network Station of the Year, ZM’s Fletch, Vaughan and Megan receiving Best Network Team Show and the Blackie Award and Mike Hosking winning Sir Paul Holmes Broadcaster of the Year for the third time.

Mike Hosking.

Mike Hosking, who has been in radio broadcasting for 40 years, says he is pleased to see how well the industry is doing.

“I put it down to the magic and simplicity of radio –the ability to turn the radio on wherever you are and hear an opinion, an idea, some information, some entertainment – that’s what makes our industry so wonderful,” he says.

Newstalk ZB’s Heather du-Plessis Allan also won Best Breakfast or Drive Talk Presenter and Marcus Lush won Best non-Breakfast or Drive Talk Presenter.

Jason Winstanley, NZME’s Chief Radio Officer, says he couldn’t be prouder of the results. 

“Our teams are incredibly hard working – so much goes on behind the scenes to present the world class news content and entertainment that our radio hosts and teams broadcast across Aotearoa each and every day. To be recognised like this, with such huge success in tonight’s awards is so exciting, and truly humbling,” he says.

MediaWorks also celebrated some big wins including Best Music Host (Network) which went to Steph Monks from The Edge, Best Community Campaign for a Day (and a bit) On The Darts by The Rock and Best Digital Content – Single Post, for Jay and Dunc’s Nicknames.

MediaWorks CEO Cam Wallace congratulated all their winners in this year’s awards.

“It’s fantastic to have so many people recognised for being at the top of their game, as well as for their many years of excellence in the industry.”

State broadcaster Radio New Zealand had 19 finalists and four category winners at the awards including Checkpoint’s Louise Ternouth who won Best New Broadcaster – Journalist and Anusha Bradley who won Best News or Sports Journalist award.

See the full list of winners here.

About Author

Comments are closed.