Industry backs to be slapped gratuitously at MPA Awards

The 36 Australasian judges have spoken. And what they’ve said relates to the Magazine Publishers Association (MPA) Magazine Awards and, particularly, the finalists. The soon-to-be-born publishing combinbation of HB Media and Tangible nabbed 38 finalist spots, Fairfax received 30 and NZ Magazines got 21. But a notable ommission from the finalist list is ACP. Chief executive Paul Dykzeul didn’t enter the awards last year, mentioning something about gratuitous self-serving, industry back slapping. And, sadly, it’s a no show again this year. Also absent from the finalist list is Mindfood magazine.

There were record numbers of entries in this, the 14th year of the awards, and entries included published work from over 65 different titles. Of these 52 different titles are represented in the finalist list and, of the 33 different businesses and independent journalists that entered, 25 of them qualified as finalists.

Entries that achieved scores of 75 percent or higher made it to the finals. And with the judges saying most of the entires were of high quality, they had a tough job choosing (you can download the full list of finalists by award and category List of Finalists Magazine Awards 2010).
Judges did not have to elect a finalist in every category. In fact, they don’t even have to award a winner, even when there is only one finalist in a category. Killjoys.

Two special supreme award winners (and the finalists) for supreme editor of the year and supreme magazine of the year will be announced at the gala presentation evening, which is to be held at the Grand Ballroom of Rendezvous Hotel, Auckland on Thursday 24 June, with MC Raybon Kan and other entertainers.

Tickets are $155 for a single, $300 for a double and $1,400 for a table of ten. And you can book your spot here.

About Author

Comments are closed.