Finalists announced in marketing awards

New Zealand’s big brands are bouncing back in 2009. Air New Zealand, The Warehouse, Frucor and Westpac are among the household names to be selected as finalists in this year’s TVNZ/NZ Marketing awards.

Of the 21 finalists, 16 are medium-to-large sized companies. Two are government agencies.

New Zealand Marketing Association chief executive and awards judge Sue McCarty says tough times demand a lot from marketers, who are under pressure to meet revenue and brand targets with fewer resources.

“The last year has called upon the professionalism of the country’s top marketers. The finalists have all demonstrated a sound understanding and application of the business disciplines associated with great insight-driven marketing. The result of that has been outstanding business success for each of them that is worthy of recognition.”

The finalists were selected by an expert panel consisting of practicing marketers, staff from the Marketing Association and Graham Medcalf of NZ Marketing magazine.

“A large number of outstanding entries laid the foundations for a thorough and healthy debate amongst the judging panel,” says McCarty.

Four categories—Marketer of the Year, Rookie Marketer of the Year, Marketing Hall of Fame and the Supreme Award—will be announced on the night of the awards.

The awards ceremony will be held at a gala dinner on October 30 at Auckland’s Crowne Plaza.

Consumer Services

Sponsor: Colmar Brunton

  • Air New Zealand
  • Les Mills International (Bodyvive)
  • Tourism New Zealand (Increased awareness)
  • Westpac (Online banking)

Consumer Durables

Sponsor: TVNZ

  • Goodyear and Dunlop (Beaurepaires)
  • Roche (Neupogen)

Fast Moving Consumer Goods

Sponsor: Smartsource Marketing

  • Cerebos Gregg’s (New and exciting foods)
  • Frucor Beverages (H2Go)
  • Frucor Beverages (Mizone Rapid)
  • Frucor Beverages (V)
  • Heinz Wattie’s (Seriously Good Mayo)

Retail Award

Sponsor: Morton Estate

  • Revive (Eat at Revive)
  • Subway (Foot traffic)
  • The Warehouse (Need versus want)
  • Air New Zealand

Not for profit

Sponsor: DNA Design

  • Fonterra Co-op & Santiarium Health Food Company (Kickstart Breakfast)
  • National Screening Unit, Ministry of Health &GSL Network (Cervical Cancer Screening)
  • Special Group (Green Party Election Campaign)

Emerging Business

Sponsor: University of Otago Business School

  • BrandCom Group (TaxRefunds.co.nz)
  • Revive (Increased Turnover)

New Media Marketing

Sponsor: GEON

  • Department of Labour (Magnet/NZ Wants You)
  • Frucor Beverages (V)
  • Marketing Impact MessageMedia (In the Box)
  • TVNZ (Olympics and Commonwealth Games)
  • Lion Nathan (Beck’s City Attack)

Business to Business

Sponsor: NZ Post

  • The University of Auckland Business School (Short Courses)

Rookie Marketer

Sponsor: GEON


Marketer of the Year

Sponsor: NZ Post


Hall of Fame

Sponsor: TVNZ


Supreme Award

Sponsor: Fairfax Media


About Author

Avatar photo

One of the talented StopPress Team of Content Producers made this post happen.

Comments are closed.