Cannes completed, great work celebrated

Sadly, after the annual week of Gallic hedonism and chinstrokery, it’s back to old clothes and porridge for the global advertising community because the Cannes Lions finished up on Sunday with the awarding of the Film, Film Craft, Creative Effectiveness and Titanium and Integrated Lions Awards. Here’s a round-up of all the winners from these and the special awards.

Youtube Video Out of the 3,310 entries in the Film category, 299 were shortlisted. 14 were awarded gold, 30 silver and 57 bronze Lions, with the Grand Prix awarded to Wieden+Kennedy Amsterdam, The Netherlands, for Nike’s ‘Write the Future’ (Colenso and Flying Fish took one silver for Rear View girls and DDB and Robber’s Dog took a bronze for VW’s Milk Run).

Youtube Video

Youtube Video

In its second year, the Film Craft Lions category received 1,322 entries. 116 were shortlisted, with 12 gold, 17 silver and 24 bronze lions dished out. Droga5 New York, USA, was presented with the Grand Prix for Puma’s ‘After Hours Athlete’. And it also won the Integrated Grand Prix for the pretty damn outstanding ‘Decode Jay-Z with Bing’ for Bing/Jay-Z. 480 entries were whittled down to a shortlist of 32 in Titanium and Integrated, of which three gold, six silver and three bronze Integrated Lions were awarded. Three Titanium Lions were handed out but no Grand Prix was given in that category.

Youtube Video

The Titanium and Integrated Jury was also responsible for awarding the Grand Prix for Good, which was presented to Leo Burnett Melbourne, Australia for its Film entry ‘See the Person’ for Scope.

Youtube Video Colenso’s campaign for TVNZ’s The Pacific was one of just six campaigns awarded in the Creative Effectiveness Lions and the Grand Prix went to Abbott Mead Vickers BBDO London, UK for its PepsiCo ad ‘Sandwich’.

During the ceremony Sir John Hegarty, who has just launched his very enjoyable memoir/advertising credo Hegarty on Advertising, was presented with the inaugural Lion of St. Mark trophy, awarded in celebration of an individual’s long and outstanding contribution to creativity in communications.

Advertising Agency of the Year was given to AlmapBBDO Sao Paulo, Brazil, with Wieden+Kennedy Portland, USA in second and BBDO New York, USA third.

Independent Agency of the Year went to Wieden+Kennedy Portland, USA. Runners up were Droga5 New York in second place and Jung von Matt Hamburg in third.

The Palme d’Or, given to the most awarded production company, was presented to Smuggler USA and Network of the Year award was presented to BBDO, with second place going to Ogilvy & Mather and third to DDB.

Ogilvy Buenos Aires won direct agency of the year, Jung von Matt, Hamburg won Media Agency of the year, and Eric Schmidt, executive chairman of Google, was awarded Media Person of the Year.

Awarded for the first time was the holding company of the year, which went to WPP with 1,219 points. Omnicom was second with 1,152 points and Publicis Groupe in third with 744 points.

The USA Hispanic team won the gold medal in the Young Lions Film Competition, with South Africa winning silver and USA bronze. The Young Marketers competition saw The Philippines win gold, Belarus win silver and Brazil win bronze.

The Advertiser of the Year trophy was presented to IKEA before the festival began in honour of its continued commitment to encouraging creative, unconventional and humorous advertising.

About Author

Comments are closed.