Beacon awards 2024: A much-needed celebration of the Kiwi media and advertising industry

In what has so far been a turbulent year for the Kiwi media industry, a shining light came last night in the form of the 2024 beacon awards.

The ceremony, hosted by broadcaster Clint Roberts and run by the Comms Council in association with oOh!media, was held at Auckland’s Aotea Centre on July 4. An annual event, it celebrates the best of the best from the media and advertising industry in Aotearoa.

For the second year, NZME took out Media Business of the Year – an acknowledgement of the way the company has successfully implemented a clear vision and strategy.

NZME’s CEO Michael Boggs was beyond proud of the win, which he called a reflection of the business’ strength in its digital, print and audio platforms.

“Winning Media Business of the Year again underscores the dedication and strategic vision of our team. It reflects our hard work, talent and the effectiveness of NZME’s comprehensive strategy in delivering high-quality content to every 9 in 10 Kiwis.”

Extending their congratulations to all other finalists and winners and thanks to the Comms Council, NZME’s Chief Commercial Officer James Butcher says NZME will continue innovating by pushing the boundaries and setting new benchmarks for the industry.

Convenor of Judges, Louise Bond, says NZME’s win exemplifies the dedication of the media industry to continue to deliver success for clients, all while grappling considerable change and an incredibly challenging time.

From this year’s 106 finalists, eight gold and 35 silver beacons awarded as well as four executive awards.

“The common theme among finalists was a focus on the tried and true and the use of technology and data to improve ROI,” Bond adds.

“This year there were a number of outstanding campaigns that shone above the rest delivering sound insight, clever strategy and strong results to win gold awards.”

Media and marketing agency Together was the most awarded on the night, winning two Golds and 10 Silvers, the most of any agency.

Managing Partner Rufus Chuter says he and his team were absolutely delighted by the result.

“To be the most awarded, across the most categories and most varied range of work speaks to the quality, consistency and care of our brilliant team.”

The Comms Council Media Committee named Go Media the standout winner of the Sales Team of the Year award, while the tightly contested Best in Show went to FCB for their ‘Investars’ campaign with AMP.

For her empathy, patience and tireless mentorship, MBM’s Group Search Director Charlotte Lobo received the Inspiring Individual Award in honour of media industry stalwart Sandy Smith.

Judged by an international panel of industry leaders and auditors, Media Agency of the Year went to PHD, praised for its ongoing drive to evolve, innovate as well as understanding and weathering of the changing media landscape.

Overall, it was a night full of community spirit, warm welcomes and a much-needed celebration of the media and advertising industry in Aotearoa, says Comms Council CEO Simon Lendrum.

“Thank you to our sponsors, judges, MC, production crew and my own team for the months of hard work required to make the night a joyful success.”

About Author

Avatar photo

One of the talented StopPress Team of Content Producers made this post happen.

Comments are closed.