The Rock, Newstalk ZB and Radio NZ recognised by experts

  • Media
  • April 19, 2011
  • Matt Monk
The Rock, Newstalk ZB and Radio NZ recognised by experts

The latest radio survey was released last week and, as expected, various 'we're number one' claims came spewing forth. Of course, these claims are based on what the people actually listen to. But we all know the people don't know what they're talking about. That's why we need experts to make decisions, and the experts have done just that to decide on the winners of the NZ Radio Awards.

A total of 49 broadcasters, producers, journalists and anything else award-worthy have been acknowledged by the panel which this year boasted up to 70 judges from New Zealand, Australia, the UK and the US. The categories range from production to campaigns to on-air talent between 1 January and 31 December 2010.

However, this year was particularly light on entries due to Christchurch networks entering very few or no categories.

“Networks were obviously affected. TRN didn’t enter and MediaWorks only entered a few. It was a difficult year due to Christchurch and we were low on entries," executive producer of the NZ Radio Awards Donna Bloxham says.

Fresh from some good numbers in the survey, The Rock picked up Best Music Breakfast Metropolitan and Best Music Non-Breakfast Metropolitan, Best Network Radio Promotion and the Best Radio Website Award.

Newstalk ZB took out Metropolitan Station of the Year, and breakfast host Mike Hosking won the Best Talk or Current Affairs Host – All Markets for the second year in a row.

Radio New Zealand, which was absent from the award last year, received Best NZ Produced Musical Programmes, Best Spoken Programmes and Best New Broadcaster – Journalist, Kate Gudsell of RNZ National. But Overall Best New Broadcaster went to Bel Crawford from More FM Manawatu.

MediaWorks Radio stations took first place honors for Regional Station of the Year with More FM Manawatu and Provincial Station of the Year with More FM Taupo.

The Outstanding Contribution to Radio award acknowledges those who need to be acknowledged, and this year it was presented to old school radioman David Innes, who retired recently.

“The contributions David has made to the radio industry have been considerable. His dedication and persistence have been a key figure in the broadcasting, advertising and New Zealand music scenes over the past ten years. He shaped the voluntary music code and has been a keen driver in maintaining the 20 percent New Zealand music airplay RBA members deliver. He is an unsung hero of the New Zealand music revolution.”

For a full list of winners and nominees, head over to the awards website.


This is a community discussion forum. Comment is free but please respect our rules:

  1. Don’t be abusive or use sweary type words
  2. Don’t break the law: libel, slander and defamatory comments are forbidden
  3. Don’t resort to name-calling, mean-spiritedness, or slagging off
  4. Don’t pretend to be someone else.

If we find you doing these things, your comments will be edited without recourse and you may be asked to go away and reconsider your actions.
We respect the right to free speech and anonymous comments. Don’t abuse the privilege.

Little Giant appointed digital partner for TVNZ's Re: web expansion

  • Media
  • February 18, 2019
  • StopPress Team
Little Giant appointed digital partner for TVNZ's Re: web expansion

Little Giant, Linked by Isobar has been announced as the digital partner for the development of TVNZ's Re: News channel, which has had a Facebook presence since 2017. Re: News will be launched as a new website in March.

Read more
Next page
Results for

StopPress provides essential industry news and intelligence, updated daily. And the digital newsletter delivers the latest news to your inbox twice a week — for free!

©2009–2019 ICG Media. All rights reserved.
Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Privacy policy.


Contact Vernene Medcalf at +64 21 628 200 to advertise in StopPress.

View Media Kit