NZ Radio Awards 2016: finalists announced — UPDATED

  • Awards
  • March 31, 2016
  • StopPress Team
NZ Radio Awards 2016: finalists announced — UPDATED

The finalists for this year's New Zealand Radio Awards have been announced ahead of the ceremony in May, and MediaWorks and NZME are gearing up to once again battle it out for the most gongs.

In total, MediaWorks has 71 nominations with group content director - music Leon Wratt saying it is thrilled.

"A total of 71 nominations across creative, on-air, promotions, sales and integration, digital, news and even graphic design - this once again highlights the outstanding performances of our people and teams right across the country."

NZME is listed 58 times in the finalists list, and group director - Entertainment Dean Buchanan says it's an awesome industry to be working in with such a healthy level of competition.

"The quality of entries this year has been outstanding, with Newstalk ZB and ZM really coming through where it matters. We are stoked to be in the running for what we consider to be the premier awards: Best Music Breakfast Show Network, Best Music Non-Breakfast Host or Team – Network, Best Talk and Talkback Presenters, Best News and Sport, Station of the Year and The Blackie Award."

Last year's awards saw MediaWorks collect the most gongs, again, wining a total of 28, which was six more than the 22 won by NZME.

In the running for 'Station of the Year – Network' is More FM, The Rock and Newstalk ZB, with previous winners for two years in a row, The Edge, not listed.

The Edge however is a finalist for the 'Best Radio Website', 'Best Network Station Promotion' (for both The Edge Four Strangers and a Wedding and Guy, Sharyn and Clint: The Pigeon Song), 'Best Music Breakfast Show' and 'Best Music Non-Breakfast Host or Team'.

Finalists for 'Best Talk Presenter/s' are The Mike Hosking Breakfast, Paul Henry and KPMG Early Editionwith Rachel Smalley.

'Best Talkback Presenter/s' finalists are Canterbury Mornings, The Tim Fookes Morning Show and The Leighton Smith Show.

Finishing off the announcement are the finalists for the ‘Blackie Award’, which goes to the year’s golden moment in radio. Jono & Ben’s Caslte Crusade, Hauraki Breakfast and Jay-Jay’s Kylie Jenner Togs are in the running.

Photos of Jay-Jay in Kylie Jenner's togs made worldwide headlines so she got  some payback by making Mike, Dom and their producers squeeze themselves into them too! Who wore it best?

Posted by The Edge on Thursday, October 8, 2015

The winners will be announced on Friday 20 May.

To see the full list of finalists, click here.

This is a community discussion forum. Comment is free but please respect our rules:

  1. Don’t be abusive or use sweary type words
  2. Don’t break the law: libel, slander and defamatory comments are forbidden
  3. Don’t resort to name-calling, mean-spiritedness, or slagging off
  4. Don’t pretend to be someone else.

If we find you doing these things, your comments will be edited without recourse and you may be asked to go away and reconsider your actions.
We respect the right to free speech and anonymous comments. Don’t abuse the privilege.

Comms Council announces The Pressie Awards

  • Awards
  • August 23, 2019
  • StopPress Team
Comms Council announces The Pressie Awards

The Commercial Communications Council has announced The Pressie Awards are back for a second year, after launching in 2018 as the PRESCom Awards.

Read more
Next page
Results for

StopPress provides essential industry news and intelligence, updated daily. And the digital newsletter delivers the latest news to your inbox twice a week — for free!

©2009–2019 ICG Media. All rights reserved.
Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Privacy policy.


Contact Vernene Medcalf at +64 21 628 200 to advertise in StopPress.

View Media Kit