IABNZ Awards winners announced at gala dinner

  • Advertising
  • September 4, 2018
  • StopPress Team
IABNZ Awards winners announced at gala dinner

The IABNZ Awards winners were announced at the second annual gala dinner at the MOTAT Aviation Hall in Auckland on 30 August. 

Thirty-seven finalists were named across the 17 categories, following the pattern of last year's awards. The‘Rising Star Award’ was introduced this year to acknowledge the emerging talent of the industry.

Winners in the Sales Excellence and Ad-Op’s categories were considered for the Grand Prix Award which went to Charlotte Startin from NZME. Startin won a trip to Barcelona, Spain to attend the Mobile World Conference in February 2019, a prize worth $2,500. All the individual categories winners will receive a ticket to ad:tech Sydney worth AU$1,300.

IABNZ CEO Adrian Pickstock said the team was blown away by the level of interest and quality of the entries this year.

"In particular, the Best Use of Native and Best Use of Video categories are very close. Congratulations to all finalists and winners and we hope you enjoy the night."

Acquire Online took home two awards on the night: 'Digital Agency of the Year' and 'Trading Desk of the Year'. 

Managing director Chris Schultz says the agency's focus is on remaining at the forefront of digital technology while supporting advertisers in achieving their marketing goals through a unique combination of strategy and customisation of every aspect of client’s campaigns. 

Category Winners

Digital Media Sales Excellence Award (Mobile): Michael Buhagiar, Big Mobile
Digital Media Sales Excellence Award (Display): Mel Graham, MetService 
Digital Media Sales Excellence Award (Video): James Rogal, Mediaworks
Digital Media Sales Excellence Award (Search): Steve Crowe, This Side Up
Junior Ad-Ops Person of the Year: Charlotte Startin, NZME
Senior Ad-Ops Person of the Year: Christine Jones, Stuff 
Digital Product of the Year: Audience Insights, Trade Me 
Best Use of Mobile​: ‘Pak’ n Save Fridgemas’ Campaign, Sense Data/FCB 
Best Use of Data: ‘Harrisons Group’ Campaigns, Steve Crowe and Team, This Side Up
Best Use of Native: ‘The Survivors Collection’ Campaign, Freddie Leckie and Team, NZME
Best Use of Video: ‘Sensodyne – The Morning Brush Up’ Campaign, Matt Kum and John Farrell, Stuff with ‘BNZ – The hardest working video’ Campaign, TVNZ/Mediacom (joint winner)
Digital Agency of the Year: Acquire Online (only entry)
Trading Desk of the Year: Acquire Online 
Rising Star Award: Harry Sturt – Sense Data
Council Member of the Year: Roger Shakes – NZ Media Tech
Service to Industry Award: Michael Te Young – Future You
Grand Prix Award: Charlotte Startin – NZME

This is a community discussion forum. Comment is free but please respect our rules:

  1. Don’t be abusive or use sweary type words
  2. Don’t break the law: libel, slander and defamatory comments are forbidden
  3. Don’t resort to name-calling, mean-spiritedness, or slagging off
  4. Don’t pretend to be someone else.

If we find you doing these things, your comments will be edited without recourse and you may be asked to go away and reconsider your actions.
We respect the right to free speech and anonymous comments. Don’t abuse the privilege.

Save the date: Stoppies is returning for another year

  • The Stoppies
  • January 16, 2019
  • StopPress Team
Save the date: Stoppies is returning for another year

On 14 February 2019, the StopPress team will be showering the industry in love as we take a look back at the best of 2018 at The Stoppies brought to you by oOh!.

Read more
Next page
Results for

StopPress provides essential industry news and intelligence, updated daily. And the digital newsletter delivers the latest news to your inbox twice a week — for free!

©2009–2019 ICG Media. All rights reserved.
Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Privacy policy.


Contact Vernene Medcalf at +64 21 628 200 to advertise in StopPress.

View Media Kit